Colorado Springs DUI Laws
What Is A DUI Or DWAI?
In Colorado, a DUI drunk driving can be classified as a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) and a DWAI as (Driving While Ability Impaired). While a DUI and DWAI are similar there are a few differences. A DUI is triggered by a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08% or higher for people 21 years or older. A DWAI is triggered by a BAC of .05% or higher but less than .08% for people 21 years or older.
If you are under the age of 21 and pulled over for drunk driving in Colorado you can be charged with a DUI, DWAI or a UDD (Underage Drunk Driving. If your BAC is over .02% but below .05% you can be charged with a UDD charge. If your BAC is over .05% you will be charged with a DUI or DWAI. Also, if a person’s BAC is over .15% they can classified as driving with excessive alcohol content, which can increase the severity of penalties and consequences.
What Colorado Laws Are There?
Express Consent Law – This law requires any driver to consent to a chemical test if a police officer requires it because the officer has reasonable grounds and believes that the subject is under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or both.
Zero Tolerance – This law details that if a driver under the age of 21 has a BAC between .02% and .08% face an automatic revocation of their license.
Buy and Possess – If you’re under the age of 21 and are found with alcohol in your vehicle you can have your license revoked.