Colorado Springs DUI Punishments
In Colorado a DUI or DWAI charge can have serious ramifications outside of the court sentenced punishment. Depending on your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) will determine the severity of the charges against you. Usually a first time DWAI offense in Colorado will merit 8 points towards your license being suspended, a $200 – $500 fine, and 48 hours of community service. A first time DUI offense usually results in your license being revoked for up to 9 months, $600 – $1,000 in fines, up to 1 year in jail, and up to 96 hours of community service. Repeat offenders offenses increase the severity of the punishments and may require the installation of an ignition interlock device.
If you’re under the age of 21 and are charged with UDD in Colorado you could face a fine of up to $250 and a revoked license for 3 months on your first offense. Each other offense can increase the fine, amount of time for a revoked license, possible jail time, and an alcohol education program. If you are found to not be in accordance of the Zero Tolerance law or the Buy and Possess law you can have your license revoked immediately.
Each case should be handled on an individual basis. Different circumstances (e.g. open alcohol container, injuries involved in the accident, combination of drugs and alcohol) can cause a difference in the severity of the punishments. This should only be used as a resource and not be taken as legal advice. To talk about potential punishments or consequences in your case please contact Torbet Tuft & McConkie, LLC in Colorado Springs for a free consultation.